Legislation Map


Where it's happening?

The map below shows the youth with disabilities in a number of different states (listed below) who NCLD/Y has been working with to have laws passed that will require schools to teach disability history and awareness in their K-12 public schools during the month of October.

map showing where laws are either in the process of, or have been passed that require schools to teach disability history and awareness.

California

Status: mobilizing

California Foundation for Independent Living Centers, Inc. (CFILC)
CFILC@cfilc.org

Colorado

Status: resolution

June Neal
Colorado Statewide Independent Living Council
info@coloradosilc.org

Connecticut

Status: legislation in process

Matt Cavedon
Connecticut Youth Leadership Project
cavedog117@comcast.net

Delaware

Status: resolution
Governor's Advisory Council For Exceptional Citizens (GACEC)
302.739.4553

Florida

Status: law passed

J.T. Davis
Florida Youth Council
davisfl85@yahoo.com

Idaho

Status: resolution

Kelly Buckland
Idaho State Independent Living Council
kelly.buckland@silc.idaho.gov

Illinois

Status: law passed

Amy Walker
awalker@maconresources.org

Iowa

Status: resolution

Michael Hoenig
State and Community Projects
Center for Disabilities and Development
michael-hoenig@uiowa.edu

Kansas

Status: law passed; youth-led

Julia Thomas
Kansas Youth Empowerment Alliance
juliat@kyea.org

Kentucky

Status: resolution

Maryland

Status: executive order

Ari Ne’eman
Autism Self-Advoacy Network
aneeman@gmail.com

Massachusetts

Status: law passed

Act Today Influence Tomorrow
Colleen Flanagan
Easter Seals
1-800-244-2756 x410

Michigan

Status: mobilizing

Michigan Commission on Disabilities Concerns
MilzarskiW@Michigan.gov

Missouri

Status: mobilizing

Missouri Statewide Independent Living Center
mo.silc@vr.dese.mo.gov

Montana

Status: mobilizing

Montana Youth Leadership Forum
June Hermanson
mylfjuneh@bresnan.net

New Jersey

Status: resolution

Ari Ne’eman
Autism Self-Advoacy Network
aneeman@gmail.com

New York

Status: resolution

Karen Lazik
klazik@people-inc.org

North Carolina

Status: law passed

Ryan Pinion
North Carolina Youth Leadership Network
ryan.pinion@alliancecil.org

Pennsylvania

Status: mobilizing

Josie Badger
PA Youth Leadership Network
josiebadger@hotmail.com

Rhode Island

Status: resolution

Rhode Island Statewide Independent Living Center
lrockwood@risilc.org

Virginia

Status: resolution

Teri Barker
Sponsored Programs Manager
Youth Leadership Forum
Virginia Board for People with Disabilities
Teri.Barker@vbpd.virginia.gov

Washington

Status: law passed

Andrea Abrahamson
Disability Rights Washington
andreaa@wpas-rights.org

West Virginia

Status: law passed; youth-led

Ann McDaniel
West Virginia State Independent Living Council
Ann.meadows@wvsilc.org


 

How do I learn more?

Along with contacting NCLD/Y directly, partners include the Disability Media Institute and the Museum of disABILITY History in Amherst New York who are helping support this growing movement.

Check out the websites:
www.museumofdisability.org
www.disabilityhistoryweek.org